The International Cricket Council has crowned New Zealand as the World Test Championship champion. The World Test Champions are the first to receive the WTC Trophy.

New Zealand, the World Test Championship champion

In the closing hour of a nail-biting reserve day, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor helped drive the Kiwis to an 8-wicket victory over India, with a boundary from Taylor.

On June 23, 2021, New Zealand was proclaimed the International Cricket Council’s World Test Champions after defeating India at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, England, on the final day of the World Test Championship.

ICC World Test Champions

With a boundary from Ross Taylor in the final hour of a nail-biting reserve day, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and captain Ross Taylor guided the Kiwis to an 8-wicket victory over India.

India were all out for 170 runs in the second innings, allowing New Zealand to chase a modest total of 140 runs in the third and final innings. R Ashwin, though, delivered a particularly hazardous spell that tested New Zealand’s nerves, as he bowled both of the opening batters in the first over.

Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor, on the other hand, were able to ease the fears of the crowd by patiently creating a match-winning partnership of 96 runs while waiting their turn. Williamson scored 52 runs without being out, while Taylor scored 47 runs without being out, which included the winning boundary runs. JAGRAN JOSH (Jagran)

New Zealand has been the first team in history to win the World Test Championship, which took place in September. Congratulation messages flooded in for the squad from all across the world for their well-deserved victory. The International Cricket Council (ICC), in a tweet commemorating the team’s journey from 2019, when they finished as runner-ups in the One-Day International World Cup, to the current 2021 World Test Championship, said, “Nice men finish first.”

Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary Indian cricketer, also took to Twitter to congratulate the squad on their World Test Championship victory. “You were the superior squad,” he wrote in a Twitter message. Team India will be dissatisfied with their performance at the World Cup. As I already stated, the first ten overs are critical, and Inia lost both Kohli and Pujara in the space of ten balls, putting a great deal of pressure on the team.”

Also on Twitter, VVS Laxman wrote: “Congratulations to the @BLACKCAPS on being merited champions.” The bowlers from New Zealand were outstanding, and Williamson and Taylor brought their years of expertise to the table to complete the victory. The Indian batsmen may be disappointed that they did not perform to their ability in the second innings, but India can be happy of the manner they played the World T20 cycle.”

• Kane Williamson (52*) and Ross Taylor (47*) lead the Kiwis to an 8-wicket victory in the World T20 final against India in Auckland.

• Williamson and Taylor have amassed more international runs for New Zealand than any other duo in the country’s history.

With his nine-run dismissal of Tom Latham and Devon Conway for 19 runs, Ravichandran Ashwin was the standout performer for India on Friday night.

In addition, it was the first six-day Test in England since 2005 and the first in the country since 1975. During the severe weather in Southampton, the test was extended until the reserve day was completed.

• After winning the toss and electing to field, New Zealand put India into the batting order. India were all out for 217 runs in the first innings, while New Zealand were all out for 249 runs in the first innings of their respective matches.

• Kyle Jamieson was named the Player of the Match for his 7/61 performance in the match against the Saints. A total of 5 wickets were taken in the first innings (5/31) and 2 wickets were taken in the second innings (2/30).

In the first innings, Ravichandran Ashwin had the greatest bowling performance for India, taking 2 wickets in each of the first and second innings. Mohammad Shami had the second best bowling performance, with 4 wickets in the first innings.

Summary of the match

Throughout the tournament, New Zealand had maintained a modest advantage over India, who had collapsed on the third day’s morning. Even so, India put up an incredible fight, inspired by a standout performance from the bowlers in particular, and were only one large partnership away from stealing the World Twenty20 crown away from New Zealand in the end.

The leading run-scorer for India in the second innings was Rishab Pant, who scored 41 runs and looked like he was on his way to forming a significant partnership with Virat Kohli, but he was caught by Henry Nicholls off a Trent Boult delivery when India was on 156.