How Much Does the Winner of the London Marathon Get? London Marathon Winners and Prize Money

How Much Does the Winner of the London Marathon Get? London Marathon Winners and Prize Money

This weekend marks the 41st running of the London Marathon, the world’s most famous road race, which will once again be open to the general public.


While coronavirus restrictions prevented elite runners from participating in 2020, this year’s renewal will see tens of thousands of runners take to the streets in pursuit of personal best times while also raising money for charities that were hard hit by the pandemic.

Men’s elite field is still deep despite the absence of world record holder and now two-time Olympic champion Eliud Kipchoge, who ended Kitata’s long unbeaten streak last year.

London Marathon

London Marathon Winners and Prize Money

Winners in various categories are recognised and rewarded during the race. The total prize money is $313,000 this year, with $55,000 going to the men’s and women’s winners, respectively. Athletes who run under a certain time or beat a course record will be awarded additional cash prizes.

Men’s Open Division (Past 10 Years)

  • 2020: Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:05:41
  • 2019 Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:02:38
  • 2018: Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:04:17
  • 2017: Daniel Wanjiru (KEN) 2:05:56
  • 2016: Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:03:05
  • 2015: Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) 2:04:42
  • 2014: Wilson Kipsang (KEN) 2:04:29
  • 2013: Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) 2:06:04
  • 2012: Wilson Kipsang (KEN) 2:04:44
  • 2011: Emmanuel Mutai (KEN) 2:04:40
  • 2010: Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) 2:05:19

Women’s Open Division

  • 2020: Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 2:18:58
  • 2019: Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 2:18:20
  • 2018: Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN) 2:18:31
  • 2017: Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:17:01
  • 2016: Jemima Sumgong (KEN) 2:22:58
  • 2015: Tigist Tufa (ETH) 2:23:22
  • 2014: Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:20:21
  • 2013: Priscah Jeptoo (KEN) 2:20:15
  • 2012: Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:18:37
  • 2011: Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:19:19
  • 2010: Aselefech Mergia (ETH) 2:22:38

What time is the 2021 London Marathon?

  • 8:30am – Mini London Marathon
  • 8:50am – Elite wheelchair race start
  • 9am – Elite women’s race start
  • 9:30am – Elite men’s race and mass participation start

Marathon Highlights

Hug set a new course record by more than two minutes with a time of 1:26.27 during his dominant performance.

Schar, another Swiss athlete, finished five seconds faster than her previous record set in 2017.

David Weir, the wheelchair race’s eight-time champion, finished third after competing in the event for the 22nd consecutive year.

The women’s elite race was won by Joyciline Jepkosgei, who finished in 2:17.42.

After winning the previous two races, world record holder Brigid Kosgei finished just off the podium.

With a time of 2:23.26, Charlotte Purdue took 10th place and set a British record.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.