How do I Deactivate my Facebook account?
You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
To deactivate your account:
- From your main profile, click v in the top right of Facebook.
- Select Settings & privacy, then click Settings.
- Click Your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a Page in the new Pages experience: Click Privacy, then click Your Facebook information.
- Click Deactivation and deletion.
- Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
When your account is deactivated:-
- No one else can see your profile.
- Some information, such as messages that you sent to friends, may still be visible
- Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends list.
- Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.
- You will not be able to use your Facebook account to access Oculus products or your Oculus information.
- Pages that only you control will also be deactivated. If your Page is deactivated, people can’t see your Page or find your Page if they search for it. If you don’t want your Page to be deactivated, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to deactivate your account without deactivating the Page.
Keep in mind that Messenger will stay active if you are logged into it or if you opt to keep it active after you deactivate your Facebook account. Find out how to disable Messenger.
When your Facebook account is deactivated, but you still have Messenger:
- You can still chat with friends on Messenger.
- Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger.
- Other people can search for you to send you a message.
Reactivating your account:
If you’d like to come back to Facebook after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account at any time by logging back in to Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Remember, you’ll need to have access to the email address or mobile number that you use to log in to complete the reactivation.
If you’re the only person that has full control of a deactivated Page, you can reactivate your Page after you reactivate your Facebook account.